City Of Chula Vista
Like Us on Facebok   Follow us on Twitter - ThinkChulaVista!   

City of Chula Vista Site Map Contact Us City Calendar of Events Frequently Asked Questions City Services What's New In Chula Vista Chula Vista Attractions About Chula Vista Chula Vista Home
Whats New Arrow
All News Releases  
City Calendar  
Community Connection Newsletter  
Newsletter Archives  
blocker blocker


  What's New

Back To News

Chula Vista’s Charter Review Commission met this week to select four members of the newly formed Districting Commission, which will recommend four City Council districts to be used in future elections. Currently, the City is not divided by districts and residents vote for each council candidate citywide. In 2012, voters approved an amendment to the City Charter that City Councilmembers will be elected by geographic district beginning with the 2016 election. Those running for Council must reside in the district they wish to represent and residents will vote only for candidates in their respective district. For example, the Councilmember serving District 1 will reside in District 1 and be elected only by voters who reside in District 1. The Mayor will continue to be elected at-large by all voters in the City.

More than 20 applicants applied for the Districting Commission. Applicants must reside in and be registered to vote in the City of Chula Vista. Of the more than 20 applicants, 14 were interviewed. Of those interviewed, the Charter Review Commission selected ten and then randomly selected four from that pool of ten to be Districting Commission members. On Wednesday, August 6, at 3 p.m., a public meeting will be held and those four members will choose three more from the original group of ten to make up the seven member Commission.

Ratification of the additional three Districting Commission members by the Chula Vista City Council is tentatively scheduled for the August 12, 2014, City Council meeting. A consultant will then be selected to work with the Districting Commission members who will assist in conducting public outreach on the process. The members will have approximately one year to complete the task of dividing Chula Vista into four electoral districts.

The four Districting Commission members selected are:

Rita Buencamino-Andrews Ms. Buencamino-Andrews is a retired analyst from the City Clerk's office, City of San Diego. She served as a Partnership Specialist for 2010 U.S. Census. She has been recognized for exemplary leadership and service to the Filipino American community.

Dr. John Korey Dr. Korey is a retired professor of Political Science from Cal Poly Pomona. He has published papers on political and voting trends, civic engagement, and California politics. He has been active in local service organizations and was an instructor for citizenship training classes.

Dr. Reynaldo Monzon Dr. Monzon is an administrator at San Diego State University. He has been involved in various committees, councils and community based organizations in Chula Vista including the Chula Vista Elementary School District and Sweetwater Union High School District.

William Richter Mr. Richter is an administrative associate at Sempra U.S. Gas & Power. He has experience in government affairs and communications. He has been involved in community and civic efforts and served on the City of Chula Vista Charter Review Commission.

Upcoming public meetings include August 6, at 3 p.m., City Hall, Executive Conference Room, #103; Districting Commission meeting where additional three members will be selected. August 12, at 2 p.m., City Hall Council Chambers (tentative); City Council to ratify additional three members recommended by Districting Commission.

For more information on City Council meetings or all City boards and commissions, visit

Posted: August 1, 2014

City Of Chula Vista



Arrrow Back To Top  


©2013 City of Chula Vista. All Rights Reserved.

Employees Only