City Of Chula Vista
Like Us on Facebok   Follow us on Twitter - ThinkChulaVista!   

City of Chula Vista Site Map Contact Us City Calendar of Events Frequently Asked Questions City Services What's New In Chula Vista Chula Vista Attractions About Chula Vista Chula Vista Home
Whats New Arrow
All News Releases  
City Calendar  
Community Connection Newsletter  
Newsletter Archives  
blocker blocker


  What's New

Back To News

This week, the Chula Vista’s City Council ratified the appointments of three additional members to the newly formed Districting Commission, which will recommend four City Council districts to be used in future City elections. Four members were recently selected randomly by the Charter Review Commission and the final three were selected by those four members last week. More than 20 applications were received for the Districting Commission.

Currently, Chula Vista is not divided by districts and residents vote for each council candidate citywide. In 2012, voters approved an amendment to the City Charter that City Councilmembers will be elected by geographic district beginning with the 2016 election. Those running for Council must reside in the district they wish to represent and residents will vote only for candidates in their respective district. For example, the Councilmember serving District 1 will reside in District 1 and be elected only by voters who reside in District 1. The Mayor will continue to be elected at-large by all voters in the City.

All commission members live in and are registered to vote in the City of Chula Vista. The final three members are Patty Chavez, Cheryl Goddard and Jerome Torres.

Patty Chavez

Ms. Chavez is a Communications Consultant with over 20 years experience in marketing and public outreach in public, private and non-profit sectors. She served as a former appointed Chula Vista City Councilmember, Community Relations Director for South Bay Community Services, consultant for local organizations, and is actively involved in several service organizations.

Cheryl Goddard

Ms. Godard is a Land Use/Environmental Planner for the County of San Diego and primarily works in the South County. She has a background in Urban Studies and Planning and Ethnic Studies and also serves on the Casillas Elementary School Site Council.

Jerome Torres

Mr. Torres is a former Chairperson of the Redistricting Commission for the Long Beach Community College District and participated in the redistricting of the Council Districts for the City of Long Beach. He is a Senior Management Analyst and Risk Manager for the City of Coronado and has served as an analyst on the city, county, school district and university level.

The first four members selected include:

Rita Buencamino-Andrews

Ms. Buencamino-Andrews is a retired analyst from the City Clerk's office, City of San Diego. She served as a Partnership Specialist for 2010 U.S. Census. She has been recognized for exemplary leadership and service to the Filipino American community.

Dr. John Korey

Dr. Korey is a retired professor of Political Science from Cal Poly Pomona. He has published papers on political and voting trends, civic engagement, and California politics. He has been active in local service organizations and was an instructor for citizenship training classes.

Dr. Reynaldo Monzon

Dr. Monzon is an administrator at San Diego State University. He has been involved in various committees, councils and community based organizations in Chula Vista including the Chula Vista Elementary School District and Sweetwater Union High School District.

William Richter

Mr. Richter is an administrative associate at Sempra U.S. Gas & Power. He has experience in government affairs and communications. He has been involved in community and civic efforts and served on the City of Chula Vista Charter Review Commission.

A consultant will be selected to work with the Districting Commission members who will assist in conducting public outreach on the process. The members will have several months to complete the task of recommending the boundaries for the four electoral districts.

For more information on City Council meetings or all City boards and commissions, visit

Posted: August 14, 2014

City Of Chula Vista



Arrrow Back To Top  


©2013 City of Chula Vista. All Rights Reserved.

Employees Only