Important Updates:

COVID-19/Coronavirus - The City of Chula Vista is suspending operations except for critical public safety operations. For other exceptions and additional information visit our Coronavirus page here.




Functions and Duties

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Chula Vista City Council is composed of the Mayor and four Councilmembers. In 2012, Chula Vista voters approved amending that City Charter to require that City Councilmembers be elected by geographic district, beginning with the 2016 election.  A Districting Commission was formed in 2014 to develop a Districting Plan (map) that established the new City Council Districts. Beginning with the 2016 election, councilmembers for districts 3 and 4 were elected by voters in their respective districts. In 2018, councilmembers for districts 1 and 2 were elected by voters in their respective districts.

The term of each member of the City Council is four years and commences on the Tuesday following certification of election results by the Registrar of Voters in December of the year of the election. Members of the City Council and Mayor are limited to two terms of office. All powers of the City, except as otherwise provided in the Charter of the City of Chula Vista, are vested in the City Council.

City Council Mission Statement

The City of Chula Vista is committed to build and nurture a progressive and cohesive community which values our diversity, respects our citizens, honors our legacy, and embraces the opportunities of the future.

City Council Values

  • Commitment - An environment characterized by employees willing to pledge themselves to a position or an issue.
  • Integrity - An organization and work force distinguished by sound moral and ethical character.
  • Accountability - An environment characterized by employees who are willing to be responsible.
  • Achievement - A climate of goal-accomplishment; bringing to a successful end.


The City of Chula Vista is a Charter City which operates under the Council-Manager form of government. The City Council, which is composed of four council members and the mayor, is the governing body of the City and possesses various legislative powers. The City Council appoints a City Manager to serve as the chief administrator and invests in him or her with the responsibility for carrying out the City Council's general policies. The City Council also appoints a City Clerk.

City Council meetings are held on Tuesdays at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers. City Council meetings can be viewed live on television on Cox Cable 24 or AT&T Uverse 99 (only in the City of Chula Vista) or via live streaming on your computer, tablet or smart phone.

A copy of all open-session items on the City Council agenda is available for public review in the City Clerk's office during normal business hours.

View Full Site