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California’s Tenant, Homeowner, And Small 
Landlord Relief and Stabilization Act Of 2020: What 
You Need to Know 
The Tenant Relief Act of 2020 – COVID 19 Tenant Evictions   
AB 3088 Effective 09/01/2020 

California has new eviction protections for residential tenants (including mobile home tenants), 
regardless of immigration status, who are experiencing a financial hardship due to the COVID-
19 pandemic and have been unable to pay rent.  These eviction protections are for rent 
payments due from March 1, 2020 through January 31, 2021. The following guidance will help 
you better understand the new laws and how they will affect you. 

Covers the Rent Payment Period from March 1, 2020 to January 31, 2021 

 

March 1, 2020 - August 31, 2020 

Tenant unable to pay rent due to COVID-19 financial distress 

Tenant served with: 
1. 15-day (not a 3-day) Notice to Pay Rent or Quit  
2. Information on Tenant's Rights and Obligations for Protections 
3. Declaration of COVID 19 Financial Distress form to complete and return to 

Landlord 

Wait for 15-day Notice Period (does not include weekends 
or judicial holidays) for the return of a signed Declaration 

from the Tenant (supporting documentation if a high 
income tenant1) 

YES 
Declaration & Support Docs (if required) 

Returned by Tenant 
CANNOT be evicted for Non-Payment of Rent 
for March-August 2020 and collection of any 

unpaid rent due may be filed on or after 
March 1, 2021 as consumer debt 

 

NO 
Declaration & Support Docs (if required) 

Returned by Tenant2 
Landlord may begin tenant EVICTION process 
on or after October 5, 2020 for non-payment 
of rent for March-August 2020 and collection 

of any unpaid rent due 
 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB3088
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September 1, 2020 – January 31, 2021 

Tenant unable to pay rent due to COVID-19 financial distress 

Tenant served with: 
1. 15-day (not a 3-day) Notice to Pay Rent or Quit  
2. Information on Tenant's Rights and Obligations for Protections 
3. Declaration of COVID 19 Financial Distress form to complete and return to 

Landlord 

Wait for 15-day Notice Period (does not include weekends 
or judicial holidays) for the return of a signed Declaration 

from the Tenant (supporting documentation if a high 
income tenant1) 

YES 
Declaration & Support Docs (if required) 

Returned by Tenant 
 

NO 
Declaration & Support Docs (if required) 

Returned by Tenant2 
Landlord may begin EVICTION process on or 
after October 5, 2020 and collection of any 

unpaid rent due 
 

NO 
Tenant does not pay a minimum of 25% of the 
rent due from Sept 2020 through January 2021 

no later than January 31, 2021.   
 

Landlord may begin EVICTION process on or 
after February 1, 2021 and collection of any 

unpaid rent due may be filed on or after 
March 1, 2021 as consumer debt 

 

YES 
Tenant must pay a minimum of 25% of the 

rent due from Sept 2020 through January 2021 
no later than January 31, 2021.  Payment may 
be made each month or one lump payment of 
25% for the entire period by January 31, 2021. 
CANNOT be evicted for Non-Payment of Rent 
for Sept 2020-January 2021 and collection of 

unpaid rent due may be filed on or after 
March 1, 2021 as consumer debt 

 

Tenant unable to pay rent for the next month 
due to COVID-19 financial distress 
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Notes: 
1 Higher income tenants are defined as having over $100K household income or over 

130% of median household income, whichever is higher. 
2  Tenants who are unable to provide the Declaration within 15 business days may still 

submit the Declaration if they have a “good reason”, such as a mistake, inadvertence, 
surprise, or excusable neglect (California Code of Civil Procedure Section 473 (b)) 

Eligible Residential Tenants (Those Who Have Experienced COVID-19 Related Financial 

Distress) 
▪ Loss of income caused by the COVID-19 pandemic; 
▪ Increased out-of-pocket expenses directly related to performing essential work during 

the COVID-19 pandemic; 
▪ Increased expenses directly related to the health impact of the COVID-19 pandemic; 
▪ Childcare responsibilities or responsibilities to care for an elderly, disabled, or sick family 

member directly related to the COVID-19 
▪ pandemic that limit a tenant’s ability to earn income; 
▪ Increased costs for childcare or attending to an elderly, disabled, or sick family member 

directly related to the COVID-19 pandemic; 
▪ Other circumstances related to the COVID-19 pandemic that have reduced a tenant’s 

income or increased a tenant’s expenses. 

No Rent Forgiveness 

Tenants are Responsible for Paying Unpaid Rent to Landlords 

 

Evictions for Just Cause 
Residential tenants may still be evicted for Just Cause, with limitations for those unable to pay 

rent due to financial impacts from COVID-19.  The eviction process for causes other than non-

payment of rent may begin September 2, 2020.  

What are the requirements for a just cause eviction? 
▪ A landlord has limited ability to evict tenants who have occupied a residential unit for at 

least 12 months to a list of just causes, either “at-fault” or “no-fault”.    
▪ Under AB 3088, no-fault evictions are not permitted against any tenant until February 1, 

2021. The only no-fault eviction permitted by AB 3088 is if the property needs to be 
demolished or substantially remodeled.  
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What are the ‘At-fault’ just causes: 
▪ Beginning October 5, 2020 for non-payment of rent prior to March 1, 2020,  not an 

eligible tenant or not following the rules of AB 3088 (e.g. No financial hardship due to 
COVID-19, timely submittal of the required Declaration or if applicable payment of the 25% rent 
for Sept 2020 to January 31, 2021) 

▪ Material breach of rental agreement 
▪ Nuisance 
▪ Damaging property 
▪ Non-renewal of lease 
▪ Criminal activity on the property or criminal activity or threat on/off the property 

directed at the owner or agent of the owner 
▪ Subletting in violation of lease 
▪ Denying landlord access 
▪ Using the premises for an unlawful purpose 
▪ Employee, agent, or licensee’s failure to vacate after termination 
▪ Failure to deliver possession as provided in written notice/offer 

For most “At-fault” just causes, owners will be required to first give a notice of violation and 
an opportunity to cure the violation prior to issuing notice of termination.  

What are the ‘No-fault’ just causes:  Limited until February 1, 2021 
▪ Owner or relative move-in (Must be the owner or their spouse, domestic partner, children, 

grandchildren, parents, or grandparents). 

▪ Requires written agreement or provision in lease after July 1, 2020 

▪ Withdrawal of the property from the rental market (Ellis Act) 

▪ Owner complying with a local ordinance or order from a government agency or court 

that necessitates vacating the property 

▪ Intent to demolish or substantially remodel the property (Allowed under AB 3088) 

For “no-fault” just causes (such as an owner/relative move-in), owners will be required to 
make a relocation payment equal to one month’s rent or waive in writing the payment of 
rent for the final month prior to the rent becoming due.    

What types of units are exempt from the just cause eviction requirements? 
▪ The units exempt from just cause requirements include those exempt from the new rent 

control, plus: 
o Single-family owner-occupied residences, if the owner-occupant is renting no 

more than two units or bedrooms 
o Homes the tenant shares bathroom or kitchen facilities with the owner (must be 

owner’s principal residence)  
o Transient and tourist hotels 
o Nonprofit hospitals, religious facilities, and other care facilities 
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Available Resources: 
Whether renting a room, an apartment, a house, or a duplex, the relationship between a renter and the 
property owner is governed by federal and state laws. The City of Chula Vista does not enforce federal 
and state laws related to landlord-tenant issues. The following information and resources may be of 
assistance to you or visit our Landlord-Tenant web page: 

State of California Fact Sheet AB 3088  

• https://www.gov.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Factsheet-Tenant-Homeowner-and-
Small-Landlord-Relief-and-Stabilization-Act-of-2020.pdf  

• https://www.bcsh.ca.gov/coronavirus19/stabilization_act_guidance.pdf 

State of California Housing is Key:   Landlord and Tenant Resources 

• https://landlordtenant.dre.ca.gov/index.html  

Declaration of COVID-19 related financial hardship (Required Form)  
Available in English and five other common languages 

• https://landlordtenant.dre.ca.gov/tenant/forms.html  

CSA San Diego County 
The City of Chula Vista contracts with CSA of San Diego County 
regarding landlord-tenant and fair housing issues. Please 
contact CSA regarding these matters. 

• Chula Vista Office English/Español PDF 

(619) 619 444-5700 
1-800-954-0441 
RAYO DE ESPERANZA  
1653 Albany Ave 
Chula Vista, CA, 91911  
www.c4sa.org  

San Diego Superior Court Self Help Center 

• Landlord Tenant  
• Frequently Asked Questions:  Tenants or Landlords 

  

Legal Aid Society of San Diego (if they are low-income)   

• Eviction Clinic 

(866) 244-0101 
110 South Euclid Avenue  
San Diego, CA 92114 
  

Lawyer Referral & Information Service and Landlord Tenant 
Information from the San Diego County Bar Association.  

• Landlord-Tenant Law 

(800) 464-1529 

(619) 231-8585 

LRIS@sdcba.org 

San Diego Volunteer Lawyer Program 
Free civil legal services to disadvantaged families, seniors, 
persons with disabilities, persons infected with HIV or AIDS, 
and domestic violence survivors in San Diego County.  Contact 
this group by attending a clinic at one of several locations. 

619.235.5656 
info@sdvlp.org 

707 Broadway, Suite 1400  
San Diego, CA 92101 

NOTE:   
The names and contact information are provided as a resource and not in the way of an endorsement by 
the City of Chula Vista. The resources list is intended as a brief overview and may not include all available 
local, state and federal resources. 

 

https://www.chulavistaca.gov/departments/development-services/housing/rental-housing/landlord-tenant
https://www.gov.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Factsheet-Tenant-Homeowner-and-Small-Landlord-Relief-and-Stabilization-Act-of-2020.pdf
https://www.gov.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Factsheet-Tenant-Homeowner-and-Small-Landlord-Relief-and-Stabilization-Act-of-2020.pdf
https://www.bcsh.ca.gov/coronavirus19/stabilization_act_guidance.pdf
https://landlordtenant.dre.ca.gov/index.html
https://landlordtenant.dre.ca.gov/tenant/forms.html
http://www.c4sa.org/
https://www.chulavistaca.gov/home/showdocument?id=20141
https://www.chulavistaca.gov/home/showdocument?id=20143
http://www.c4sa.org/
http://www.sdcourt.ca.gov/portal/page?_pageid=55,1665742&_dad=portal
http://www.sdcourt.ca.gov/portal/page?_pageid=55,1555654&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL
https://www.chulavistaca.gov/?splash=http%3a%2f%2fwww.sdcourt.ca.gov%2fportal%2fpage%3f_pageid%3d55%2c1555654%26_dad%3dportal%26_schema%3dPORTAL&____isexternal=true
http://www.sdcourt.ca.gov/portal/page?_pageid=55,1555757&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL
http://www.sdcourt.ca.gov/portal/page?_pageid=55,1555750&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL
https://www.lassd.org/
https://www.lassd.org/content/eviction-clinic
https://www.sdcba.org/index.cfm?pg=MainLRIS
https://www.sdcba.org/index.cfm?pg=Landlord
mailto:LRIS@sdcba.org
https://www.sdvlp.org/
mailto:info@sdvlp.org

